A remarkable buying experience

13 Sep

We just applied for health insurance, amazing. Yesterday I went to the office of Pacifico Seguros. The security guard approached me as I was walking to the office with several Peruvians and asked me what I wanted. I told him I wanted to buy health insurance. He said to come with him and took me through a little locked door in the outside wall. Me in jail already, I wondered? He led me to a dining canopy in a courtyard where there were several patio chairs and said in English, “Sit down here.” Then he went into the offices and a few moments later a woman in professional dress appeared and asked me what I wanted. I told her the same thing and asked whether anyone spoke English. She said, in Spanish, “one moment–I will explain everything to you.” She came back, took me into the office and spent at least 20 minutes explaining the policy options in perfectly clear Spanish that I could understand. The policy uses a preferred network with clinics in all major cities and five in Arequipa to choose from. Doctor visits are $8 and everything else is covered at 90%, including dental cleanings and fillings. Common medical procedures in Peru are 5-10x cheaper than in the States, so 10% of the smaller amounts is very reasonable. Emergencies like broken limbs are covered 100%.

Anyway, back to the buying experience, when it came time to sign, I said that I wanted to make sure I understood everything in English and she needed a bit more information which I was not able to understand, so I called our friend Steve on my cell, who answered all her questions in Spanish. Much to my surprise, the representative then offered to stop by Steve’s house in the morning so that he could interpret for me and I could understand everything in English. She stopped by this morning and all went as planned. The grand total for our family coverage: $200/mo.
We are thanking the Lord for this smooth experience as my current coverage runs out on Monday. Next up: finding a house to rent and getting the company and work visa.

2 Responses to “A remarkable buying experience”

  1. kcauble September 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Amazing! Wish it were so seamless here.

  2. Marcy Mutter September 14, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    Thank you, Jesus!

Leave a Reply

