Dad the interpreter / provider

7 Oct

The kids have been doing remarkably well in Peru. That’s partly because things aren’t that different as far as they are concerned. We still have a kitchen, (mostly) hot water, and Internet which allows us to stay in touch with far away friends and family.

But as I was returning non-functioning items at a major store today, I realized there is something more. The kids implicitly assume that I know what I’m doing and can understand Spanish well enough. (I’m certainly gaining experience at return counters as some items here are just junk. Every power strip I’ve tried sparks or sizzles or flat out doesn’t work. That UL listed thing you see on most electrical equipment in the US means something, after all.) At any rate, the kids trust me as their provider / interpreter so they don’t worry too much about surviving here. It brings to mind Matthew 18:3:

And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

I’m able to survive here (anywhere, actually) because I also have a provider / interpreter. Sometimes I don’t know what’s going on, but like a child, I trust that my heavenly Father is holding the ropes.

5 Responses to “Dad the interpreter / provider”

  1. Marc Chester October 7, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    Thanks for that wonderful observation, David. Also from Jesus in Matthew: “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than the sparrows.”

  2. Dawn October 7, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

    AMEN !

  3. michael CHANDLER October 8, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Yes, you are Spanish king in your kid’s eyes.  It was usually the other way around in Thailand.  The 6 year old kid picked up the language on the playground or maybe at school.  We knew of cases where the parents depended on the kid to interpret for them.

    It was the same way for me in America.  I had a problem with my computer, just ask David.  It behooves the generations to get along with each other.

    Amen that we have an interpreter/provider!

    Love,   Dad

    ________________________________

  4. kcauble October 8, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Amen, amen, amen.

  5. Millie October 11, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    El es el creador de las lenguas y te dara la sabiduria para entender y aprender el español. Y estan en el lugar perfecto para lograrlo, sumergidos en la cultura. Seguimos orando por ustedes!

Leave a Reply

