I take it back

19 Oct

The last post said we were getting the hang of it. We are, sort of. We’ve found the nearby supermarket with the best prices on nearly everything and we now know the three or four other markets where we can get cheese, herbs, whole wheat flour, brown sugar, and other items at reasonable prices. But just when we were feeling comfortable, all the boys (self included) got sick with another round of intestinal problems. We’re on the mend today.

Meanwhile, I really miss my computer monitor from home. It had a little extra height to it (1920 x 1200) which made coding a bit easier. You cannot buy anything greater than HD resolution (1920 x 1080) in Arequipa unless you want to pay $800 for it. And you can’t buy just a plain old computer monitor. Everything is a TV. Finally, I decided to settle for 1920 x 1080 TV / monitor and found a good sale at the Saga Falabella Web site. I tried to buy it on the Internet to get the Internet-only price and pick it up in store, but alas, the Web site only accepts the store card, Visa, or American Express. I have a business Visa debit card, but it is not eligible for the “Verified by Visa” program that the store uses. Fortunately, a helpful clerk was willing to give me the Internet price if I paid in cash, which I did. Unfortunately, the TV was a “Smart TV” that requires an Internet connection faster than 10 MB/s to use the Internet features. Since our connection is only 5 MB/s, the Smart TV features are useless. Fortunately, the store allowed us to return the TV. Unfortunately, we could only obtain store credit. Fortunately, there was another much cheaper AOC model that I thought would work. Unfortunately, when I got home and took it out of the box, I discovered that although it offers full HD resolution for TV, it offers only 1366 x 768 for use with a computer, and furthermore I couldn’t get my Mac to recognize it at all. Now I am really frustrated. I don’t think there will be a problem returning the second TV for store credit, but I don’t think I want to take a chance on another monitor / TV there. Fortunately, they sell clothes, and we need some, so maybe we just prepaid for a lot of clothes by way of two computer monitors…

 

 

Leave a Reply

