Looking up

9 Nov
Saturday

Saturday

Vicki was up bright and early to go to the grocery store by herself again. As she was away for a couple hours, I began to wonder where she was and thought to myself, “With all the technology I have around here, I surely ought to be able to track my wife and vice versa for security purposes.” So I enabled location sharing in Google Plus on my phone right away and on hers when she returned. I also visited my Google location history page to see where I’d been recently. The picture you see here represents today’s travels: this afternoon I went to Plaza Vea for groceries and spent a little time at our neighborhood park. Tonight I went with friends to a Bible study and understood almost every word, which was exhilarating. It certainly helps when you know the context and subject matter. I took my turn reading Scripture in Spanish and even made a comment. Afterward I talked with my friends in Spanish for a while, too, and they seemed to understand me. This is very encouraging.

Thank you for praying for our youngest son Timothy. His digestive system is starting to improve although he now has a cold, but that also is improving. I’m also feeling much better today.

Tomorrow morning I shall have brewed Peruvian coffee at home for the first time. The well-known Cafe Valenzuela in Centro sells not only fantastic frappuccinos at half the price of Starbucks, but also coffee grinders and whole bean coffee from the high mountains of Cusco. Things are looking up 🙂

3 Responses to “Looking up”

  1. Chuck Buchanan November 10, 2013 at 7:04 am #

    Dave,
    That is a very encouraging message. I think that is so awesome that your ability to understand scripture in Spanish is growing so quickly. I am so thankful for you & Vickie’s steadfast testimony there in Peru.

  2. Rebecca November 10, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    So very glad to hear that encouraging word! and by the way…the best coffee I ever had was Peruvian (most expensive too!)

  3. Millie November 10, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Nos es de mucha alegria saber que las cosas estan mejorando y que su español esta avanzando!!! Seguimos orando por oportunidades para ministrar.
    El mapa de google es muy interesante. Creo que vamos a usarlo aqui tambien. Me encanta!

Leave a Reply

