A quiet day

13 Nov

Today was the first day, perhaps since arrival, that we didn’t have to go to Centro or anywhere else for that matter, just language school as usual. We are finally getting settled in and it felt really good to have a whole afternoon just to do homework, catch up on email, and listen to The Piano Guys. Yesterday I submitted all the papers for my work contract so the ball is in their court for a week or so. It was not particularly smooth and involved a rushed trip to the bank before the window closed, but I’ll spare you the details. After the contract is approved, I’ll be running around again applying for my work visa.

Yesterday I officially resigned from Google. My unpaid leave runs out this week and there were no openings for me in Spanish-speaking countries. This is a bittersweet moment for me. I am extremely thankful for the opportunity to have worked for the company and will always cherish it. It feels strange to leave one of the most coveted jobs in my industry and one that I loved so much but I am convinced that the Lord has used it to prepare us for service more directly for His kingdom. We have already found the soil here to be much more fertile. Our lives could have been much richer in earthly terms had I stayed, but I think they will be much richer in heavenly terms now. If I start doubting, I will read Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life 🙂

Tomorrow is Rebekah’s birthday. We are sad we cannot be with her but we had a family Hangout on Google Plus tonight (except Michael), sang Happy Birthday, and enjoyed cake in her honor. I am still amazed at how much video changes the conversation. It’s almost like you’re there. We plan to have some group hangouts to share more of our lives here “in person,” so get your webcams ready!

5 Responses to “A quiet day”

  1. Debra Mucci November 14, 2013 at 7:01 am #

    I am sad with and for you. I rejoice in your sacrifice for righteousness’ sake. May God strengthen you and uphold you and all that are yours with his righteous right arm. For the Kingdom! Debra

  2. Rebecca November 14, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    Piano Guys…Cello Ascending…lovely music…got out my cd of Lark Ascending…yup, interesting adaptation!!

  3. David Bearden November 14, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    David – Thank you for allowing the Lord to lead you into this journey of faith. I know that He is going to use you and your family in mighty ways to build His Kingdom. You are in my prayers..

    Blessings,

    David

    • Michael November 14, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Miss you guys too!

  4. Cleveland Gaynor November 15, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    I look forward to your posts so much. Thank you for the vivid details and the humor. I can almost feel as if I am there… For those of us back home, I thank you for the sacrifice that you and Vicky are making. Seems funny that you mentioned Piper’s book. I am reading it now for the first time. Wow. Thanks for inspiring me on how to live a life fully.

Leave a Reply

