Here we go again

7 Jan

I went to Immigration in Arequipa today to figure out why my visa was still showing a pending state online. The good news is they told me it’s now ready for me to pick up my residence card in Lima. The bad news is that it’s been ready since Dec 18 (when I was in Lima) and no one told me that. I had actually tried to go to Immigration in Lima. The Web site said they were open until 6pm. What it didn’t say was that only appointments are accepted after 5pm. Grrrrr. So I’m off to Lima tomorrow hoping to complete the procedure. Fortunately, Peruvian Airlines doesn’t charge double for foreigners like LAN does and the fare was “only” $186 on a day’s notice.

I made the required tribute payments in Banco de la Frustración (Nación) this afternoon. As always, it involves a long wait. I waited in the short line specifically for paperwork downtown but today the clerk told me I couldn’t use that line like I have twice before, so I went up the street to another office where the ratio of persons waiting to tellers was more favorable. Still, I waited something like 20 minutes. The clerk couldn’t find the codes for the three payments I needed to make. After a long while and talking to two other tellers, she found the codes, took my cash, and informed me that one of the $20 bills which I just withdrawn from an ATM at Caja Arequipa was unacceptable because it had writing on it. Thankfully, there was another Caja Arequipa office nearby and the line was short. I presented my ATM receipt and the teller happily exchanged the bill. Then I returned to Banco de la Frustración to complete the payment. Hopefully the payment receipts will be accepted at the Immigration office in Lima tomorrow!

4 Responses to “Here we go again”

  1. michael CHANDLER January 7, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

    I sure hope you had a cell phone to play with while waiting in line. Lessons in patience! Perhaps your new business down there could steamline the banking system. Sorry this has been such a trial.

    Love, Dad

  2. Judy Chandler January 8, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    Love it, Banco de la Frustracion. My Spanish improves! You are developing patience in us just bearing with your trials. Hope it was a successful day with even more achieved than going home with your visa.

  3. Peter L January 8, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

    ¿El nombre es “Banco de Frustración”? ¡Qué intersante! Pero, yo dudo que éste sea el nombre en verdad. Necesitas recordar que en le cultura española, el sentido de “tiempo” no es tan estricto que en los EEUU. Para ellos, el reloj normalmente es para información nada más.

  4. Juan Melgarejo January 14, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    There are alternate channels for Banco de la Nación (BN) payments:

    http://www.bn.com.pe/canales-atencion/agentes-nivel-nacional.asp

    some fees can also be paid via internet with a credit card, or via agents (local small businesses that handle the teller’s job in behalf of the bank).

    BTW it is recomended to have a BN savings account (hard to get for Lima’s residents because of competition rules that restrict government-owned enterprises) , as it don’t charge extra fees for transactions made from another city as most private banks do.

Leave a Reply

