Approved!

11 Jan

After a rather discouraging Wednesday, Thursday started well and kept getting better. I used my extra day in Lima (at Peruvian Airlines’ expense!) to meet with potential customers / partners for software development and am quite excited about the opportunities before me. I was able to work out the basics of two excellent opportunities for consulting / business development, meet a talented graphic / Web designer duo with whom I hope to start working shortly on projects for local businesses, and discuss the possibility of providing training to developers in exchange for some work on the Remember One Another mobile app. All of these are answers to definite short-term needs and really get the ball rolling. I am very thankful for that cancelled flight! It seems the Lord had other plans for me on Thursday.

Friday back in Arequipa I met with the department head and a teacher at one of the local universities and worked out the details of the Web development course I plan to teach starting in April. The university also offered their new computer lab to teach a summer course along with a current teacher there. Then Friday night I received an email from a former colleague with still more possible work opportunities.

But perhaps the best news of all is that yesterday my work visa was approved! This is a huge answer to prayer and was much faster than expected after the discouragement on Wednesday. I can now confidently venture to Lima again to collect my residence card and begin the process for Vicki and the kids, which should be much simpler.

The change in my emotional well-being over the last three days could not be more dramatic. It is a situation I have observed many times, that of complete dejection followed by fantastic reminders of the Lord’s faithfulness. Humanly speaking, I do not even understand how my world can look so dark one day and so bright the next. But I know who makes the difference and He’s clearly been at work here.

4 Responses to “Approved!”

  1. Judy Chandler January 12, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

    Romans 8:28 comes to mind! How blessed are you that the turn-around came so quickly and lovingly!

  2. Rebecca January 12, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

    AMEN!

  3. Juan Melgarejo January 14, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    (y) Congratulations David

  4. Matthew Winfrey January 16, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    Fantastic! I look forward to chatting with you maybe in the next day or two!

Leave a Reply

