Off to Lima

19 Mar

Well, I’ve done exactly what I hoped not to do and put Vicki on a plane to Lima by herself to get her INTERPOL certification. Transportation to the guest house where she will stay has been arranged, and after that she is armed with the Easy Taxi app on her phone, which is secure and convenient because it requires no talking in Spanish. With any luck, I will also be able to track her with G+ Locations. She remembered her phone charger at the last minute.

Please pray for Vicki’s safety and success in her journey, and for us as we celebrate Timothy’s birthday without mom. The big bash is on Saturday, anyway, so it’s not such a disappointment, but the timing is very sad. Following our visit to Immigration this morning (thankfully, we were the first ones there so did not have to wait), the rest of the day was a blur of activity going to two different banks to pay the required fees, to the notary for a power of attorney authorizing someone else to pick up her INTERPOL certificate when it’s ready, to downtown for passport photos, and…

The highlight of my day was when requesting a certified check at BCP made out to United States Treasury. The clerk insisted that I needed a DNI (Peruvian ID #) or RUC (Peruvian corporation #) for “United States Treasury.” After several attempts at mistakenly repeating “es el gobierno de los Estados Unidos,” I finally said “gobernimiento” (government, not governor) and she was able to understand that the United States of America does not have a Peruvian identification number. Still, she had to get approval from her supervisor to issue the check in just the name. What I now realize, after thinking about this some more, is that I think I mistakenly got a regular certified check instead of one that can be cashed out of country, and neither the clerk nor her manager had any clue what United States Treasury is. Ugh. That will set Vicki back a few hours tomorrow.

As I’ve mentioned, we appreciate your prayers 🙂

6 Responses to “Off to Lima”

  1. kcauble March 19, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

    Praying knowing that the Lord is ordering Vicki’s steps and watching over her. Happy birthday, Timothy!

  2. Leland and Linda Shelton March 19, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Hi David,  We read your e-mail and we will certainly be praying for Vicki.  When Vicki called today and left the message on our recorder about going to Lima I was hopeing you were going with her.  The Lord will watch over her, and she will be able to contact you I’m sure. I am wanting to do a hang-out but something is wrong with my password.  Emily said she would help me but I was wanting to see and talk to Timothy on his Birthday.  Tell him Happy Birthday from Grandpa and me.  We love and miss him.  When I get someone to help me I will e-mail you all and set up a time for a hang-out.  We are continueing to pray for you all, with getting your business going and all the Visa hang-ups.  The kids look great in their uniforms, so grown up.  Have you received any of our mail?  I sent Timothy a Birthday card, but he won’t get it on his Birthday, but I do hope he will eventually get it!   Give the kids a kiss and hug from us and let us know when Vicki gets home.  Love, Grandpa and Grandma

  3. Dawn March 20, 2014 at 6:17 am #

    Praying now

  4. Judy Chandler March 20, 2014 at 9:18 am #

    Wrestling with God through prayer, and reminded this week, “I am The Lord, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?”

  5. Mike March 20, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    Praying for your family tonight brother

  6. Juan Melgarejo April 20, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    David: what you should have told the bank is that you need a “giro internacional” (wire transfer physical check), then they give you an special check payable to their New York or Miami branch that you can deposit in an US Bank for clearance.

Leave a Reply

