Just like old times

29 Oct
A thrice-notarized copy is all you need!

A thrice-notarized copy is all you need!

I know you’ve been missing my updates on administrivia, but I just had to share this one because it tickles me. It’s actually been a good while since I’ve had to visit Registros Públicos, but I am hiring a part-time Peruvian manager for the company in order to handle ongoing administrivia (this is a good thing, and we’re really thankful). Because the gerente has legal authority to represent the company, he can only be replaced by the decision of the shareholders. So yesterday I had a shareholders meeting with myself, consulted the law of corporations online, put on my lawyer hat, modified the previous document which installed me as manager, and off we went to the notary.

Now I’ve done this once before and remembered the procedure so I was pretty pumped. Daniel (the new manager) and I took a taxi to save time and we made it to the notary well before 2pm, when they close for the afternoon notary siesta. The line in the notary’s office was unusually short. We were in and out in 15 minutes, and they even loaned us scissors and glue to paste the newly notarized corporate act into the official corporate book (which is the step I had missed last time). We next took a taxi downtown to Registros Públicos, which closes at 4:45 pm. Still plenty of time. Got the form, filled it out, and presented the form with our corporate book at the window. And that’s where the fun ended. “We can’t take the whole book,” she said. “You need a notarized copy of the act in the book.” “But the act is already notarized and glued into the book, every page of which is already notarized.” “Doesn’t matter. You have to make a copy of the already-notarized act pasted into the already-notarized corporate book and get the copy notarized.” But of course! How could I have forgotten?

At this point they had us but I thought there was still a chance we could get it done in one day. We made a copy up the street, but it was now 3pm and all the notaries were closed for siesta. We took a taxi home and got stuck waiting for a procession downtown. Still, our total time away from the office was only 2 hours and that’s really good for having visited both the notary and Registros Públicos. We walked back up to my favorite notary at 4pm after stopping next door for an Oreo McFlurry to reward us for our partial accomplishments. We presented the book and the copy only to find out that, while the office is open, the notary himself doesn’t come in until 5pm. So I dropped off the copies and went back at 6pm to pick them up, but it was of course too late to go back to Registros Públicos at that point. Vicki and I had a quick dinner at home and headed off to Arequipa English.

First thing this morning I went to Registros Públicos to present the thrice-notarized copy. The line was short and there were no more issues. My favorite coffee shop is nearby (it’s almost like I planned it that way) so I enjoyed a fine cappuccino and got in my morning walk home in sunny and dry Arequipa. Now we wait seven days to see if the lawyers at Registros Públicos approve of my writing style. I could have hired a lawyer first to do that, but time is on our side and the filing fee ($15) is less than the cost of a lawyer. If there’s a problem, the lawyers at Registros Públicos will tell me exactly what it is and we can file the correction. Someone once told me I should have been a lawyer, anyway. I’m still not sure how to take that.

I hate to say it, but there is a logic to the procedures here. Given that systems are still paper-based and given the degree of corruption, things make sense. As silly as it first appears, each notary stamp on the pictured doc does in fact add value to the process. The law is straightforward and even the requirements for most procedures can be discerned from various Web sites. You just have to budget time and money for the process (including possible rework) and try to enjoy the ride. Meanwhile, I am thankful that the notary is close to McDonald’s, Registros Públicos is close to Cusco Coffee, and pretty much every day is sunny and 70 degrees for my morning walk.

And for anyone else needing to register a change of management in your Peruvian company, all you need is a notarized copy of the notarized act pasted into your notarized book of corporate records. If I were clever, I could work that into a rap or something, but I will leave that to my reader audience. The post is now open for comments 🙂

4 Responses to “Just like old times”

  1. Bill Chandler October 29, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

    As I approach the tender age of 92 I’ve decided against any move to Peru. No direct flights from Bella Vista to Peru. Just one of many reasons

    • David Chandler October 29, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

      Well I understand, Grandpa, but you’re missing out. Arequipa is really very pleasant. We enjoy our life here. And as a tourist, you don’t have to deal with any of this.

      On Wed, Oct 29, 2014 at 12:36 PM, The Chandler Far Southern Times wrote:

      >

  2. Judy Chandler October 29, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    Is the new manager discouraged with all of this? He learned a lot, and probably wants to stick with programming. Glad you are “tickled” with all of this, that’s pretty amazing in itself!

  3. michael CHANDLER October 29, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    You still have the touch! Good thing Cusco’s and Mickey’s are close by for motivation. This procedure is just one more thing to make you long for Peru.

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

