T minus 2

18 Dec

It’s hard to believe we’re only 2 days from leaving Peru. We plan to return exactly as we came, with suitcases only. We’ve sold all the big stuff and have had several informal sales in our kitchen when Peruvian friends asked, “oh, do you have stuff for sale?” That has led to some awkward moments negotiating with people we’ve never met for things like silverware. Everybody loves a good sale, but Vicki is one tough negotiator. We got 40-50% back even on things like kitchen utensils. On the big stuff (beds, fridge, etc.) we thankfully did even better, as missionaries who work with the orphanages will be renting our apartment after us. They are moving from a furnished apartment so they needed lots of stuff. We’re really thankful for the Lord’s provision in this way. We had a wonderful lunch with them today, which was very helpful since Vicki closed the kitchen yesterday 🙂

At the kids’ suggestion, we sat down and ate at Papa John’s tonight for the last time in probably many years. “What,” you say, “no more Papa?” No, it’s not that! It’s that you can’t sit down and eat at PJ’s in the States, but here you can. The place was absolutely hopping tonight and both pizzas (it was two for one night, of course) came out together and were delicious.

We’ve closed out all accounts except one, my cell phone with Claro. Yesterday a friend tried to do it over the phone and was told I could only cancel in person, so today I went to the office and discovered to my horror that the distributor who signed me up for the plan put me on an 18-month contract without my knowledge for which I supposedly received a Motorola phone! Now there is a $150+ early termination fee. It would be very easy just to walk (fly) away, but our friend Daniel who signed our letter of guarantee for Immigration would probably not be too happy with me. After discussing the situation with Claro for the better part of an hour, I went to the distributor, who told me that they had fired the representative who sold me the plan for problems like these but that his boss would be in tomorrow and she would resolve the problem. I truly don’t have time for this with less than 48 hours to departure, but will have to make time. If the distributor doesn’t fix it, I will have to file a fraud affidavit with Claro, which in their own words is a giant pain and takes at least 15 days. But we do have enough info to start that process tomorrow if necessary, and I could go to the notary–one last time–to get a power of attorney for a friend to finish the process. “When does it stop?”, I wonder, and I have this sinking feeling that the morass of Peruvian bureaucracy is somehow going to follow me all the way to the USA. Actually, I already know it will because I’m still the majority shareholder in the Peruvian company I started to do mission projects. But I do think it will be easier to deal with said bureaucracy at arm’s (or ocean’s) length.

Pray for us. We’re not home yet (queue Steven Curtis Chapman).

7 Responses to “T minus 2”

  1. kcauble December 18, 2014 at 11:45 pm #

    Wow. Just wow.

  2. Paul Robyn December 19, 2014 at 8:06 am #

    Looking forward to seeing you guys in a few weeks!

  3. Pravin Varsani December 19, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    It reminds of me of all the red tape bureaucracy mixed with corruption, dishonesty and lack of clarity that I grew up in Kenya with.

    • David Chandler December 19, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

      Yes, Pravin. Peru is most definitely in the same vein. I am more amazed than ever that Jesus died on the cross for one of the thieves next to him.

  4. Bill Chandler December 19, 2014 at 6:59 pm #

    The trials and tribulations never cease. Have ruined any desire I have had of getting a pass port. The good old USA isn’t perfect but it beats anything South of the border. Will pray that you make the flight home. Your Dad Mom Michael and Rebekah I’m sure counting on it. At the moment it looks like we will not renewing our Grandson , Grandpa relationship till some time this summer. Love Gramps

  5. michael CHANDLER December 19, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    Congrats on the sale of all your household goods. It seems to me that since you never got the Motorola phone, that Claro is in violation of contract. Offer them the phone as the early termination fee.  If it doesn’t put too much on Daniel, I’d walk.  What can Claro do to you? They could never get together the necessary documents in time to stop your exit.  Best talk with the manager to gracefully back out.  I would think that “had to leave country” would be a valid reason to waive early termination fee. Question.  Do you want Clifford’s far back seat removed?  It becomes 4 passenger car with a lot more storage. Love,  Dad

    • David Chandler December 19, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

      Thanks, Dad. Please leave the back seat in so we have enough seats for our return trip, as we won’t have Michael’s car then.

      On Fri, Dec 19, 2014 at 9:12 PM, The Chandler Far Southern Times wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

